Bethany House Publishers, Book Reviews, Reviews

Distinctly You by Cheryl Martin

Ok, sorry I haven’t written in a while. I’ve been taking a bit of a break and focusing on life. 😛 I do have a couple book reviews that need to be posted, so you’ll see those around. Then I might take another break.

Anyways.

DistinctlyYouDistinctly You’s slogan is ‘trading comparison and competition for freedom and fulfillment’. I saw that and loved it. Comparison is such a hard subject for girls, especially teenage girls still trying to find their place, and competition? Yeah, I’m the oldest in of four girls and my cowboy lifestyle is mainly male oriented. I’m pretty competitive. LOL.

Cheryl Martin starts off with a story from her own life that describes what she’s saying. Somehow, that just makes it ‘click’ so much better, being able to say, ‘hey, she gets it. She really does!’ And throughout the rest of the book, she continues with little stories, little touches of herself in there, just to let you know that she really does understand what she’s writing about.

Also peppered through the book is Bible stories. Stories that make sure you know God understands too. He knows what’s going on, and he still cares.

She gives questions at the end of each chapter to help you find your weak spots and your strong spots. She has application in it. She shows you what she means, how to get there, how to live.

Would I recommend this book?

Yes. Absolutely.

If you see it anywhere, I would definitely, definitely pick it up. Cheryl Martin is an awesome writer and this book is an awesome book. I hope you all enjoy it just as much as I do.

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

3 thoughts on “Distinctly You by Cheryl Martin”

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this:

