A to Z, A to Z 2016, Book Reviews, Reviews

O: (The) Outcasts by John Flanagan

TheOutcastsI’m not sure how many of you have heard of John Flanagan, but I love both of the series that has come out from him. On of the books from his first one, Ranger’s Apprentice, is going to be my ‘R’. But for today, we are going to focus on his second series, Brotherband Chronicles. (Click here for author website).

Wait a second, you might be thinking. Brotherband doesn’t start with an ‘O’! That’s right, it doesn’t. Which is why I’m using a single book from the series to write my post. It actually happens to be the first book in this series as well. 🙂

The series follows the adventures of the Heron Brotherband, the outcasts of Hallasholm. Yet every year, when the boys of Skandia turn 16, they go to their ‘official’ training–warrior training. The boys are broken up into ‘brotherbands’ in order to go through this training. Well, the Heron Brotherband is formed up of nothing but the outcasts.

They struggle the most in the training sessions; the Wolves and Sharks seem to be racking up points much faster than the Herons can. But soon they learn about creativity and their own scores start to climb as well. Then the Wolves are out when their ship breaks. Winning the last race means that they will be the best Brotherband of the year.

They manage to win it by the skin of their teeth. When they’re the first to reach the finish line, they think that they’ll all finally be accepted. And they are, for the first, oh, day. One of the privileges given to the winning Brotherband is guarding the Andomal, their greatest treasure of all times, for one night.

When a pirate steals it from them, they are now much worse than the outcasts. Eric gives them till the next morning to hand back their weapons, but instead, aided by the mighty Thorn, they take Hal’s boat and go out after the pirate. It is the only way to get their honor back.

The next two books, The Invaders and The Hunters, they track down the pirate with the a desperate mission of getting back the Andomal. The two after that, Slaves of Sorcorro and Scorpion Mountain, are about their adventures as they go to Araluen, which you will learn a lot more about when I talk about Ranger’s Apprentice. But, it is quite exciting for someone who has read both series.

I will say that it’s a little bit predictable as it’s more of a tweens’ and teens’  book. That’s not to say that you won’t like it! Every time I come home from the library with one, my family knows that it’s going to be a little bit before I do anything else besides read it. I think I’ve already read the entire series about three times.

The other bad thing is that it is still being written. So you have to, like, WAIT for the next book to come out. Right now, I’m waiting for whatever is coming after Scorpion Mountain. I….I don’t know how…much longer I…can…survive. I…need…that…BOOK!!!!

This series, Brotherband Chronicles, it is well worth your time, and if you have kids, I’m sure that they’ll love them as well.

Happy Reading!

1 thought on “O: (The) Outcasts by John Flanagan”

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this:

