A to Z, A to Z 2016, Book Reviews, Reviews

L: Last in a Long Line of Rebels by Lisa Lewis Tyre

LastInALongLineOfRebelsI was recommended this book by my sister’s friend’s mom. I know what you’re thinking right now…what??? So, my sister’s friend’s mom is also a friend of my aunt. When ever we all get together, my sister’s friend’s family is often invited as well. One day, it was getting late and I found myself sitting beside my sister’s friend’s mom. Turns out, she’s as big a bookworm as me.ย We swapped favorite books and authors for a bit, and now we email each other with great book finds.

So like I said: I was recommended this book by my sister’s friend’s mom. Boy am I glad she recommended it. ๐Ÿ˜€

Lou is the junkman’s daughter and in desperate need of something exciting. After Sally made fun of how boring Lou’s summer would be, Lou explained how wrong she was, much to her best friend’s shock. And so starts one of the most interesting summers of her life.

It starts when Lou and Benzer find an old Bible and pray with it for excitement that summer. Then, they’re forced to run real quick into a secret hiding spot since they areย not suppose to touch that Bible. As they listen, they find out that the city is trying to take away Lou’s house. The only way to save it is to make it a historical landmark…or to find the gold that is rumored to be hid around here.

And so starts their summer.

Their search for the gold takes them back through every exciting event the small town ever had–the courthouse fire and the murder–and even the norm for the town: slavery, Civil War, and abolitionists.


I loved this story. Lisa wrote a great story of adventure, challenge, and of what happens when your once perfect world gets flipped upside down.Lou had quite an adventure and I sure am glad I was able to peek in on it. ๐Ÿ˜€

This book was definitely written for tweens, but if you’re like me and like reading tween books too, well, you’ll love this book. It doesn’t have a deep complicated plot, but everything does keep moving along. You don’t feel stuck in one place for too long.

Would I recommend this? Absolutely. I think that everyone should have a great, feel good book like this sitting somewhere on their shelf. And it won’t be dusty. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Happy Reading, everyone! I hope you’ve been enjoying the A to Z so far! ๐Ÿ˜€

 

2 thoughts on “L: Last in a Long Line of Rebels by Lisa Lewis Tyre”

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this:

