Bethany House Publishers, Book Reviews, Reviews

Dressed for Death by Julianna Deering

DressedForDeathRemember when I told you that I signed up for Bethany House Publisher Blogger Review Program? (Yeah, yeah, long title. But’s it worth it!) Well, this is the book I got from them! (Yay!) Dressed for Death…y’all know how I like mystery/murder/suspense, right? So I saw the title and knew it was the book for me!

I haven’t read the beginning of this series yet, but after reading this one, I know that I will.

Drew and Madeline Farthering have been married for six months. For their ‘anniversary’, Madeline talks Drew into going to a Regency-era house party. Drew isn’t excited about it, but he’s willing to do whatever it takes to keep Madeline happy.

But suddenly, his friend Tal’s fiancée dies from an overdose on cocaine. Tal insists that Alice would never do anything like that. She wasn’t that type of girl. Drew choses to believe him and starts to snoop around. Yet before the night is over, Mr. Cummins, Tal’s father, is arrested for smuggling in the cocaine. It’s not a mistake either.

Drew has looked up to Mr. Cummins for most of his life and as he watches Mr. Cummins hauled away, he wonders how he can ever trust his judgement again.

He fails miserably again when Will is somehow killed by a barrel. But why was he in the wine cellar? And why was there no one around when he was killed?

More snooping, but he fails yet another time when Tal himself commits suicide, leaving behind only a note about his whole life a lie and two metal rings.

Can Drew regain his confidence in order to save his wife from certain death? Or is it too late for everyone?

Dressed for Death one of those stories where you find yourself despairing with the main character as problem after problem rages their way. The story takes a little bit to get going, and there’s a bit in between the murders/suicide, but Julianna keeps those parts interesting as Drew wrestles with the doubts inside of him. I think that Julianna could have been a little more clear on the fact that Drew and Madeline are Christians as references to that are scattered somewhat scarcely through out the story.

Julianna definitely kept me interested though. I sat down to read it and didn’t get up until the story was done. It was fascinating to think that a Texan could write such good English stories, but she does a very fine job. As RT Book Reviews says: Dressed for Death is “Agatha Christie-esue” and definitely worth the read!

Would I recommend this book? Definitely! If you get it chance to read it at your library or buy it at your local Christian book store, I would suggest that you do so!

I hope that you enjoy it just as much as I did. 😀

Until the next review! Happy reading, y’all!

I have been given a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review and opinion of the product.

2 thoughts on “Dressed for Death by Julianna Deering”

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this:

