Compassion

Closer – My One Word for 2016

let us draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, with our hearts sprinkled clean from an evil conscience and our bodies washed with pure water.

Hebrews 10:22

UnknownI normally don’t make resolutions. My family has never really done it, and so I’ve always thought of it as a way to get depressed early in the year. And then its a joke for the last seven months of the year until December 31st rolls around again and you make more, just to get depressed early and then joke about it and then make more. Over and over the cycle goes.

However, I got my prompt from Compassion this month and it talked about one word for the year. Not a resolution to be followed daily and regretted deeply when you missed it, but rather something that you and God work on throughout the year.

I don’t know about you, but that sounds way better than a resolution to me. Something for you and God to work on. Something that will further your walk with God. Something that will encourage you and uplift you and hopefully will bring real change that lasts longer than the month of January.

The word that God gave me was ‘closer‘. In 2016, I’m going to be working on drawing closer to God. True, the verse I chose (Hebrew 10:22) says ‘draw near’, but it conveys what I want. I also plan on memorizing this verse. 😀

 What about you? Has God given you a word and verse for 2016?

Heb10.22

4 thoughts on “Closer – My One Word for 2016”

  1. Great Word!! Last year my word was “encumbrances” with a verse but I can’t recall where. I haven’t gotten a word yet this year, but it seems that “refine” may be it… Waiting to see..
    Blessings and Happy New Year!! May You Grow Closer to God this New Year!!

    Like

    1. Argh! I am so sorry! Somehow your comment was placed in the Spam!

      Believe, that’s a good word! 🙂

      Thank you for stopping by, and I’m glad you like the font. lol, although I just changed the theme. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this:

