Stories

My Daddy’s A Hero

 

Daddy’s a hero. Everyone says so. From his sergeant to Bobby Jo down the street. They all say the same thing.

My daddy is a hero.

I know he is too—honest I do!—I just wish that ‘hero’ wasn’t the same as ‘dead’. Dead. Yeah, my daddy is a dead hero.

Why do the superheroes always live? Why do they always save the day? Doesn’t everyone know that’s not what happens? If you come back, you’re a veteran. If you don’t come back, you’re a hero. A dead hero and his broken, lost, ‘brave’ family.

And so, my daddy is a hero.

And my family is broken, lost, and ‘brave’.

They say it was suppose to be a routine flight with no difficulties. They say the first they knew of the attack, Daddy was already falling. They say the plane’s explosion lit up the night enough to see ground troops to fire at. They say his death alerted the rest of the base that there was a sneak attack coming. They say his death saved many soldiers’ lives.

And so, my daddy is a hero.

The first time I saw the 4th of July plane ‘fall’, I screamed. I screamed and screamed, positive that there was going to be an explosion…that someone was going to die…that there would be another family like ours.

Mom got sympathetic looks from our neighbors and weird looks from those who didn’t know us, yet she calmed me down enough to promise that no one was getting hurt, that no one was going to die, that everything was ok.

Now? Now I don’t scream. I just cry. And I cry even more when no one around me knows what it means, when no one understands why I salute with tears running down my face.

But I know why I do.

Because my daddy is a hero.

And now my husband is too.


heartstrings-award-3Written for Thursday 360. Congratulations to John Mark Miller for his Grand Champion story!!! Read it here. And thanks to Whiney for awarding me runner up and winner of the Thursday 360 Heartstrings award!!!

Whitney and Thursday 360 would love for you to come and participate!

Don’t want to write? No problem!! Come and read!!! Comment on the stories and let the authors know how much you like about their story!! Connect with published authors!!! 

Stop by and have some fun. Thursday 360 is waiting!!

 

4 thoughts on “My Daddy’s A Hero”

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this:

