Stories, Thoughts about Writing

Writing Challenge! (Awesome or what?)

Thanks to Owlivia from Untainted and Odd for nominating me!! All of  you know how much I love writing, so this was awesome! And unlike Owlivia, who wrote almost entirely dialog, I had not a single word of dialog. 😀

So here’s the challenge:

1. Open a blank Document
2. Set a stop watch or your mobile phone timer to 5 or 10 minutes, whichever challenge you prefer.
3. Your topic is at the foot of this post BUT DO NOT SCROLL DOWN TO SEE IT UNTIL YOU ARE READY WITH YOUR TIMER!!!
4. Once you start writing do not stop until the alarm sounds!
5. Do not cheat by going back and correcting spelling and grammar using spell check (it is only meant for you to reflect on your own control of sensible thought flow and for you to reflect on your ability to write with correct spelling and grammar.)
6. You may or may not pay attention to punctuation or capitals.
7. At the end of your post write down ‘No. of words = ____” to give an idea of how much you can write within the time frame.
8. Do not forget to copy paste the entire passage on your blog post with a new topic for your nominees and copy paste these rules with your nomination (at least five (5) bloggers).

I did the ten minute challenge.

Li? This story is for you.

She had little pigtails that bounced with every step she took. Beautiful, beautiful pigtails that I wish I would have braided. Then I looked to the boy beside her, holding her hand. A little boy with a bright face, eagerly showing her the sign up above. Sandwiching them both was their parents. At least, who they thought were their parents.

I knew better.

My beautiful girl, walking there, a smile on her face and laughing.
How grown up from the little daughter I was forced to give to the orphanage. I knew I was pregnant when my stomach extended and extended and then…I felt a kick. I knew that there was something inside of me. Something gorgeous. I started to change. I swear, my daughter, I did everything that I could. But I couldn’t make it work. I tried and I tried. But no one wanted anything to do with a dirty street girl, even if she was trying to be better. I wasn’t a thief, daughter. I didn’t do any of those things. I just wanted to have give my child the best place I could.

It was almost time for you to be born. And that was when I realized I couldn’t keep you here. If you were a son, you would quickly be drafted into one of the gangs around. If you were a daughter, you would be used and abused by men in ways I could not let happen. I couldn’t let that happen.

So I gave birth, in the backstreets of Russia. And I held my beautiful daughter and I cried. I cried as I took her to the orphanage and left her there. But I knew it would be better for her there than here.

My beautiful daughter.

And now, as I watched her bouncing pigtails, I turned away. My daughter had a home. A better home than I could have ever given her. I brush the tears away, but I stand up tall.

My beautiful daughter.

No. of words: 334

My nominations:

Your word, guys? Red. 🙂

Thank you so much for reading, y’all!! 😀 Have a wonderful day.

7 thoughts on “Writing Challenge! (Awesome or what?)”

  1. Oh my. Thanks! This looks like a fun challenge. Loved yours, very creative and thoughtful writing. One question, what was your “prompt” word/phrase? Didn’t see it in your post, but may have missed it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That is beautiful!! I love it. So sums up a mother’s feelings. Thanks for writing that! And I really do like your new theme. You need to come over and help me with mine and help me get more followers 😛 lets face it, I’m a REALLY bad blogger. Thanks for letting me know about this, girlfriend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you like it!! 😀 And I’m glad you like my theme too. YES, I AGREE! You are a terrible blogger who should be ASHAMED of yourself!! How could you????

      JK, JK!! Your Dreaming Big blog is pretty good, isn’t it?

      Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this:

