Things Every Teenager Needs

What Every Teen Needs – Operation Affirmation

OperationAffirmation

So it’s long overdue for another What Every Teen Needs post. My titles aren’t the most exciting so, well, you all know that this is about affirmation. But do you know how important it is??

Before I start though, I have to be honest. I’m not the best at this. I’m picky. I like things done the certain way I know works. And when it’s not done that way, I’m known to make some comments that are not very affirming.

At.

All.

But lately, God, Mom and my little sister’s hurt face have been convicting me–big time–that there is a problem there that I need to work on, desperately. This post here is as much for me as it is for you. Hopefully we will all learn something from this and, through God’s grace, become better people.

Ok, so now that’s out of the way, let’s talk about affirmation.

What is affirmation? According to the Apple dictionary, it is the action or process of affirming something or being affirmed. *rolls eyes* The second definition used is ’emotional support or encouragement’.

Everyone loves to know that they’re special. That they are worth something. That they mean something to you. This is not just teenagers. This everyone–the neighbors, the teenagers, your coworkers. Everyone.

Sanctus Real has a song called Lead Me (check it here out if you get a chance) and the second verse and chorus says:

I see their faces, look in their innocent eyes
They’re just children from the outside
I’m working hard, I tell myself they’ll be fine
They’re in independent
But on the inside, I can hear them saying…

“Lead me with strong hands
Stand up when I can’t
Don’t leave me hungry for love
Chasing dreams, but what about us?

Show me you’re willing to fight
That I’m still the love of your life
I know we call this our home
But I still feel alone”

Lyrics from A to Z Lyrics

That song so applies here.

Tell me you love me,

That you’re here and I’m safe.

Tell me that you are proud

Of me and forever will be.

 

Show me that you love

And tell me I’m gorgeous.

Don’t hide in the shadows please,

I want to know that you’re here.

 

Ok, so that probably wasn’t the best song lyrics ever written. But it (mostly) matches the tune if you sing it way I did.

But that’s what we want.

Tell me that you love me. Tell me that you’re here and you’re watching out for me and I’m safe. Tell me that you are proud of me and that you will stay proud of me for the rest of your life. Tell me that I’m gorgeous.

Actions speak louder than words. Mostly. But some things need said, not doing.

Need affirming sentences to add to your vocabulary?

I love you.

You are precious to me.

Thank you.

I messed up and I’m sorry.

You are beautiful.

I’m glad I know you. 

I’m glad your my daughter/granddaughter/friend/etc…

I’m glad I know you.

You are smart.

You will accomplish great things in your life.

I am so proud of you.

Your mother (father) and I are so proud and amazed at the wonderful young lady (man) you’ve become.

You are worth all the nights we stayed up changing diapers. You are worth all the bills it took to put braces on your teeth. You are worth the doctor bills. You are worth it all and I wouldn’t trade you for anything in the world.

What if you, today, walk up to your daughter or son and say, “I’m glad you’re my daughter (son) and I wouldn’t trade you for anyone in the world.”

And see what they say or do.

But don’t stop. Keep going, everyday. While we might not change overnight, it means the world to us to hear you walk about and say, “I love you.”

Please never stop.

WhatIWantToHear

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this:

