Horses

Moral Question for Y’all

Ok, so this was just a random ‘what if’ question I thought of when I was riding home from my friends house.

If your horse was hurt, like let’s say, his eyelid (which did happen to one of Grandpa’s friends actually!!) was all cut up and needed medicine. He isn’t letting you near it. Would you twitch him?

(For those of you who don’t know, twitching is taking the bottom lip of a horse and twisting it which is quite painful. Like twisting someone’s arm behind their back.)

If you don’t, he’s going to get worse right? Infection? Swelling? More pain?

If you do, he has painful experience and then medicine to keep it from getting worse.

What do you think?

7 thoughts on “Moral Question for Y’all”

  1. Humm…I’ve always had mixed feelings about twitching. I think if it’s a serious situation then one might do it because obviously one can’t overpower a horse and just hold it down. What do you think?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I hate thinking about doing it, but if my horse was in a do it or be blind situation, oh yeah, I’d do it without hesitation. And if for some reason he ever could talk and voice his disapproval, I’m sure I could explain it to him and I’d hope he’d understand….

      Liked by 1 person

      1. you know, it’s interesting- I’ve read some information on twitching and how it actually does not cause pain but releases some sort of chemical in the brain to calm the horse. I’ve only read a little bit of this research, I don’t know much about it but did find it interesting and thought I’d mention it in case you were interested in looking more into it.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I do not like twitching, BUT in a case like this if it worked and was last resort then I’d say absolutely! A horse with a useable and functioning eye is worth more to the horse. A few minutes of pain to save their eyesight and sustain quality of life. ABSOLUTELY!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this:

