Goals, Life

New Years Resolutions–A Little Bit Late

imagesI have never been the biggest fan of New Years Resolutions. To me, they seem like a reason to get depressed. So, it’s been a good long while since I’ve made any.

We had to put Grandpa’s dog down the other day. And it hurt. Even though he wasn’t our dog, I still remember when, as a puppy, he’d take naps with my dad. And I remember when Grandpa was training him with the sheep. And I remember how much he loved to chase those sheep. And I remember how I always thought we should name him Jackrabbit instead of Rocket because when he ran, he looked like an oversized jackrabbit.

And, while I was remembering ole Roc, as we called him, I started remembering me. God started showing me things that I really could work on. Like I really could stop being so much of a pessimist; a little joy and happiness certainly couldn’t hurt anything. And I really could start smiling more. Ok, yeah, a lot more. And when I have extra time, maybe I should stop focusing on getting ahead in my schoolwork and more on my sisters who I, if I somehow go to college right away, will not be seeing everyday in a rapidly coming three years. And maybe I shouldn’t try to rush my sister through chores so much. Maybe I should slow down a little and make my goal ‘spending quality time with sister’ instead of ‘getting done ASAP so I can do something else’.

 Ok, so yeah, back to my statement about New Years Resolutions. I think I’ll make them just a little bit late.

  1. Joyfulness is contagious; smile and laugh more often.
  2. I’m homeschooled: I can do school forever and ever and no one will ever notice or care, but my sisters will not be around that long; play and hang out.
  3. My dear sister is more important than the laundry; slow down and make sure she knows it.
  4. God has forgiven me; when I mess up, I will not be depressed. I will get back up and go at it again.

Unknown-6And since I so hate New Years Resolutions, I’m not going to call it that. I’m going to call them Set-Apart Resolutions. I am trying to be set apart for God, and these are my resolutions for Him.

6 thoughts on “New Years Resolutions–A Little Bit Late”

    1. Yes, that is one of my biggest problems. I want to be perfect and when I’m not, I feel and act like I am lower than the lowest ocean. I need to remember that it is not the end of the world and there is another day, another week, another month, another year to start over and God’s grace will continue to follow me all the days of my life. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this:

