A to Z 2015, Life

L: Lackadaisical

Have you ever just gone through the dictionary to see what random word you could find??

Well, I did. And I found Lackadaisical.:)

Lackadaisical, pronounced LAK-UH-daze-i-kel, means ‘lacking enthusiasm and determination; carelessly lazy.’

Synonyms? Lethargic, apathetic [showing or feeling no interest, enthusiasm, or concern], listless, sluggish…and the list goes on.

So, why did I bring this up? One simple reason.

Can you, yes you, come up with a sentence that uses this word?? Are you up to it? If you do, I’ll do it.

Ok. Here I go.

After 9:30 PM, since that’s when my bedtime is, I can get pretty lackadaisical. I’m not that much of a night owl; I workΒ much better in the morning. πŸ™‚

Alright. Your turn. Post your sentence in the comments below!! I can’t wait to see what everyone comes up with!!

16 thoughts on “L: Lackadaisical”

  1. Whenever it’s rainy weather, especially for several days in a row, I noticed I have a rather a lackadaisical attitude toward doing anything productive, preferring instead to read or nap to the sound of raindrops hitting the metal roof of my house.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha. Love it. And yes, I think most people in this world have that lackadaisical attitude towards rainy days. And a metal roof????? LUCKY!!! I love the sound of rain on metal roofs!!!

      Like

  2. Ooh, fun word. Here’s my sentence: my lackadaisical cat only shows energy when begging for food. Best wishes! I was sorry to learn your dislike of ladybugs over on The Squirrel Nutwork (isn’t that a fun blog?). Oh, and my Darla M. Sands blog is number 1281 on the A to Z list today.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cats can be like that, can’t they??? And yes, it is pretty sad that I “dislike” ladybugs. My friends think it’s hilarious though that I stay on the other side of the room from little itty bitty ladybugs yet go to the zoo and wish I could hold the big, huge snakes…. Maybe I am a little weird!! And yes, that blog is AWESOME!!! Met on the A to Z and I’ll definitely keep following!!!

      Like

    1. Haha!!! I know EXACTLY what you’re talking about!!!! My Haflinger/Quarter Horse can get up and go, but on trail rides?? Noooooo. We’re at the back with all that…ugh…mud that must later be cleaned off πŸ˜‰ Glad you’ve had fun with my blog!! πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I love this word and I use it frequently. One thing I have noticed: many people mispronounce it and insert an S, saying the word as lacksadaisical. They could be thinking that lax is short for the misspelled word. It does roll off the tongue easier with the S so I see how it can happen…
    Good word!
    Michele at Angels Bark

    Liked by 1 person

    1. After saying it about twenty times to double-check myself, yes, you’re right!!! It is quite easy to say ‘lacksadaisical’!! I’ll try and keep it under control here. πŸ™‚

      Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this:

