A to Z 2015, Life

H: How I Want To Live My Life

HThis was written as an essay answer to the question, “what occupation would you like to have in the future? Why?”


 

My dream occupation is a stay at home mom living with lots off kids on a farm. I want to foster kids and then adopt those that I can. With my many kids, I want to raise and train a horse or ten, raise and eat a steer every year, and maybe own a couple sheep or goats.

Why? Because this is a huge battle front for Christ right here, to take a child who feels like the world is against him and show him (or her) that Christ is always there for him, no matter what, and that I will be there for him too. Motherhood is also a desire implanted into every woman in this world. They have done this job since Adam and Eve. It fulfills some craving deep within a woman.

They say that a woman can do everything a man can do… but a manimages can’t do everything a woman does. I tend to disagree. A woman cannot take the man’s place in the house as the casting, loving, instructing father that all kids need and neither can a man take the nurturing role of the mother. I am ready to take on my role. Lord, use me.


If you had told me five years ago… or even two years ago… that I would say motherhood is my dream occupation, I would have dismissed you as completely crazy. I was sure that I was called to singleness, would never have kids, and would spend my life roaming from ranch to ranch as a cowboy. My parents (and grandparents and Mom’s  friends) kept telling me that I would change my mind when I “reached that age”. And what do you know? I think I’ve reached it. 😉

And also, just a quick note. I did mean to add more descriptive words to ‘mother’ like I did father…but my thirty minutes were running out and I still had to edit it. 

Whitie's Calf
Whitie’s Calf

Mom took this picture for my ‘H’, calling it ‘Hidden’. Thanks Mom!!!!!

14 thoughts on “H: How I Want To Live My Life”

  1. I have a friend that’s a foster Mom. I am amazed at what she does. She’s a widow and over fifty. She got a little girl on Christmas Eve with a broke leg.

    My friend cried at our Christmas program because she always makes room at her inn.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this post today! I am living your dream life … well, mostly. I don’t live on a farm. But I am a stay-at-home mom to five kids. We are also a foster family, although currently we don’t have a placement. Just waiting on God to send us another child to love on for a while. It’s a big calling, but I love every single moment! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad that someone else agrees with me!! Being a fostering patent must be amazing and hard. Is it much different from raising biological children, except for giving them back?

      Like

      1. I’ve raised biological kids, step-kids and foster kids … and it isn’t much different at all, other than the differences between the children themselves. All kids need/want to be loved and to have limits (discipline). I treat every child in my home as if they are “mine” no matter how they got to be there. Great question!

        Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this:

