Stories

Gabe and Luke

guardian-angel

Written for Christian Flash Weekly

Luke was leaned back against the wall with his handsome, dark eyes closed when I walked up.

“Hey Luke.”

His eyes popped open, showing our friendship. “Gabe.”

There was a brief, awkward silence before Luke spoke up again.

“What did you want to talk about?”

“You can’t do this.”

The light flickered from his eyes. “And who’s gonna stop me? Him?”

“Yes.” I answered, trying to keep my voice even.

“He couldn’t swat away a fly if he wanted to, much less stop me.”

“Is that so?” You were there, Luke, when…”

“Yada, yada, yada.”

“That is how you talk about your king??”

Luke pushed off the wall behind him and squared up as he glared back at me.

“King? He doesn’t deserve that throne. It should be mine. Look at me, then look at him and tell me that he really belongs up there.” Luke’s voice dripped with angry sarcasm.

“He does.” I retorted.

“I will serve him forever,” Luke mimicked my voice. “As long as I’m still the…”

“Shut up, Luke!” I snapped. “It’s not like that at all and you know it!”

“Oh yes, sorry, I forgot. You’re the perfect one around here.”

We both glared in an angry silence.

“Why should I not be up there?” Luke finally broke the silence.

“Because he’s there.” I answered, trying to keep my voice calm. “Because you’re not worthy. Because you’re the…”

“I know what I am!!” He exploded. “I’m the one who should be sitting on the throne.”

“Says the proud, overconfident, arrogant…”

“Says the deserving, humble, knowledgeable…”

Sarcasm dripped off his voice.

“You can’t do this, Luke!”

“Yes, I can, Gabe. And I will, Gabe.”

“I can’t just let you…”

“I don’t need you to let me! Look at me, Gabe! I could crush you right now without your sword. And I can kill him without his as well.”

I glanced at his bulging muscles.

“He doesn’t need his sword, Luke. He’s…”

“Arrogant, overconfident, proud, and on top of all that, he expects me to bow at his feet!! Me, Gabe!! Me!! I am so much more powerful than he! I am more beautiful! I am more than he and yet, he continues to treat me like a slave!”

“He. Does. Not!!” I exploded at him.

“You are so naive.”

“Luke.” I pleaded.

“Gabe.” I heard Luke’s voice soften. “Look, I know that you can’t help the fact that you are drawn to him. It took me a while to get over it as well. But we’re friends right? I’ll help you out now if you’ll help me out later. I can show you the light!”

“Luke…” I warned, backing up.

“C’mon, Gabe. We don’t leave friends behind, right?”

“I’m not going to do this, Luke. I’m not going to leave him.”

“Are you willing to die for him?”

I didn’t hesitate.

“Yes.”

“Then there’s nothing I can do for you.”

“I will fight for him, Luke, and I will die for him, but you can’t and won’t get into the city and you can’t and won’t kill him. No one, not even you, has the strength for that.”

“Gabriel, never underestimate your enemy.”

With that, he walked away.

“Lucifer!!” I yelled after him. “Don’t do this!”

He never turned around.

In this one, I had another competitor, so this one was fair. 😉 It was a very cool story, check it out here. (It’ll be in the comments.)

Charles (the judge) announced me winner!!

cfw-logo

Thanks Charles!!

What he said about my story:

Gabe and Luke by Daleen C

A short story about the war of the ages. Luke makes his choice, and Gabe makes his. One willing to die for the king and the other willing to kill to become king. What a wonderful and terrible distance between those two perspectives. I had to start over reading a couple of times, because something about the opening, and maybe my knowledge of Daleen’s writing, made me think of two cowboys. But soon I realized who I was reading about and weight of their choices.  Well done.  Keep this one filed away, clean it up and maybe use it in another setting someday.

Cowboys???? *goes back and reads* Hmm. Yeah. I guess it does. *shrug with sheepish smile*

Grand Champion – Daleen C for Gabe and Luke

The rebellion in heaven made personal. The concept is wonderful and the execution is as good as the other entries.  But it is the concept that made me choose it.

Thanks for the fun competition, Charles!! 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this:

