Persecuted Church, Stories

The Christians Aren’t Leaving

timeline10
Written for Thursday 360

Stacie looked up from the garden. “What are you thinking about?”

“Sermons.” Jayden muttered.

“Sure you are.” She nudged him with her elbow. “I’m your wife. I know when something’s wrong.

“I was followed again today.”

Stacie sat up straight. “You were?”

“Yeah, from Kirman’s closed market to Leon’s back alley. I think I lost them there.” Jayden dropped his head to his hands. “I couldn’t see them, but I could hear them, him, I don’t know. I turned, they turned. I stopped, they stopped. I started, they started.”

“What should we do?”

“Why are you asking me?” He moaned, glancing over at his wife.

“You’re the pastor and the head of this house.” Stacie answered.

“God wants me here.”

“Then it’s settled.”

“It is?”

“Yes. It is.” Stacie nodded firmly.

“You know we could both die staying, right?”

“You know we could both die leaving, right?” Stacie countered.

“Yes, but…”

“…but God wants you here and who are we to disagree?”

“The safest thing to do would be to try and get out of the country.” Jayden looked Stacie in the eye. “It’s what the Muslims told us to do if we want to live.”

“But is it the smartest?” Stacie looked right back. “To save our lives now but throw away our eternal life because a couple of mortal men told us to?”

“You keep me going, Stacie.” Jayden murmured, kneeling on the dirt beside her. “I don’t know what I’d do without you.”

“That’s what I’m here for.” Stacie answered. Then she popped up. “Start thinking about Sunday’s sermons, Jayden. I’ve gotta make supper.”

Across the road, the whole conversation was heard. The hearer grabbed a chunk of dirt, rolled it around in his hands, and slipped back to tell his authorities.

The Christians aren’t leaving.

 

Whitney (btw, check out her awesome post, ‘Walking the Line in Christian Fiction’ if you get the chance) announced that I was the Grand Champion winner!!

However, it might not have been fair. If you go to this week’s contest, you will see Whitney and I’s conversation mentioning the ‘stiff competition’ and the ‘WAY too many entries’.  😀

Also check out Voice of the Martyrs  and ‘You’re Doomed. We’re Busy’ for ways to pray, help, and encourage todays persecuted church.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this:

