Compassion

Happy Birthday to a Special Person

Hey Everyone,

I’d like you all to meet Naomy. I sponsor her through World Vision for $35 dollars a month.

Today is her birthday!!! She is turning 15!! Screen Shot 2015-02-08 at 11.56.12 AM

Naomy is from rural Kenya. She has 2 brothers, and 5 sisters, along with her parents living in a round mud hut. They are dependent on agriculture for their income. (Cows, goats, farming? I don’t know. She hasn’t told me yet although we do talk about the weather a lot.)

I have sponsored her for a year now and I have about ten letters and a very cute Christmas card. (Sweetest. Thing. Ever.) 🙂 I am so blessed to know her.

Okay, so yeah, that is not a very good sales pitch. I’m pretty sure your heart strings are exactly the same as when you started reading this. There are probably no tears running down your face as you look at my beautiful Naomy. And you are probably not clicking for World Vision or Compassion in an eager haste to sponsor a child.

But I will say this. This is one of the most amazing things I have ever done. To hear (ok…maybe not hear. ‘Read’ is more like it.) her tell me about her birthday…to receive the letters saying ‘thank you’…to know that I am making a difference for Christ.

The Three Sweetest Words from Compassion International on Vimeo.

If you want to make a difference, sponsor a child. Compassion or World Vision. Help me change the world. One child at a time.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this:

