Devotional, Life

Redefining Success

If at first you don’t succeed, redefine success.

When I first heard that, I ranked it slightly under:

Don’t judge a person until you walk a mile in their shoes…that way, you’re a mile away and have their shoes.

 Whoever said that, I thought, must have had a bad day and wanted to ease his guilty conscience for getting so little done!!

After thinking that, the goal-oriented me returned to crossing off tasks for my checklist.

But what if he (she?) is right??

This is familiar for how many people? It’s you’re day off (school, work, whatever. You’re getting a break today.) So you wake up in the morning, hurry get dressed, eat breakfast, and start on the things you want to get done today until someone comes up and asks, “hey, can you help me with {fill in the blank}?” And you mentally check your check list. “Nope. Sorry. I’m too busy. I have to finish {blank} and start on {blank} and then I’m going to {blank}. Sorry, can’t help you, {family member, friend, blank}.” And then you rush off and continue on with your day. Or maybe, you’re feeling nice today and help them…hurrying them through it so you can get back to your life.

If you were the nice person, at the end of the day, you lay back down and bed and think, “Bad day. Didn’t get {blank} or {blank} done cause I had to help {blank}.”

(Am I making this too personal?)

Well, maybe it’s time to redefine success.

What if you said that night, “It was a good day today. I didn’t get {blank} or {blank} done but I did spend quality time with {blank} and was able to help them and show them Christ’s love. Oh yes, it was a good day today.”

Which do you say at night?

6 thoughts on “Redefining Success”

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this:

