Stories, Thoughts about Writing

God is Good, All the Time

 

Written for Christian Flash Weekly.

Prompt: Psalm 66:16 (HCSB)
Come and listen, all who fear God, and I will tell what He has done for me.

I will not walk up there.images

Yes, you will. 

Why?

Because God asked you to. 

What does that matter?

He is your Savior and you pledged Him you life.

Yeah! My life. Not to sign me up to do…this.

I wonder what it would be like if that’s what Jesus said when they went to crucify him.

Well He didn’t.

Then why are you?

Because this is a job for someone else. Someone who He gave talents to.

You did quite fine on the essay last month.

That was different.

Certainly. On the essay you weren’t talking about Him.

That’s not what’s different.

Yes, it is. And you know it too.

I don’t even know what to say! I’ve had three weeks to get ready and I don’t have a single word written down to say.

Tell them what God has done for you.

Like what? What am I suppose to say?

God is good, all the time. All the time, God is good.

That’s cheesy.

They are facts that you know are true.

I can’t just walk to a microphone and say ‘God is good, all the time. All the time, God is good.’

You can’t huh?

No. I can’t.

Then what are you going to do?

I won’t go up there in the first place.

Tell them what God has done for you. 

I will not say…

You don’t have to. Tell them about when your daughter was lost for two days and He brought her back. Tell them about the time…

…when I nearly drowned as a kid and He sent someone around the corner who saw me in the dark. Or about the time…

…when you fell off that horse and should have been dead but…

…somehow there was only a small bruise and a scratch. Or when there was that car accident…

and everyone else in it was majorly injured or dead but you only broke your arm. Or the time when…

…I tried to ignore Him, but everywhere I went, there was someone to remind me of Him until Dusty Carlin led me to Him. Or the time when…

…you and Dusty went on that missions trip to Uganda and there was that riot with everyone….

…shooting guns and breaking windows. They were thieves that would steal from us especially…

…because they thought foreigners were rich. But they never found you or Dusty. Which was good because if they had…

…we would be dead. But we weren’t found and the thieves left town and Dusty and I were able to lead one hundred people to Christ that day because we weren’t scare. We knew that God would protect us.

So see? God is good…

…all the time.

And all the time…

…God is good.

So you get up there on that stage and tell everyone that. Make sure that everyone knows that God is good.

You know, you consciences are really annoying. I would be home watching a good movie if it weren’t for you.

What do you think I’m for? Your turn, get up there and tell them.

I walked up the steps and looked out over the crowd. “Hi everyone. Let me start off by saying one thing. God is good, all the time. And all the time, God is good.’

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this:

