Horses, Reblogged

After an accident with a horse how can I get over my fear? How can I make the process easier?

This can be applied in all areas of life. Scared of something? Start small and don’t give up. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Stacy Westfall Horseblog

โ€œHi Stacy, I am in Australia and I have watched your videos and read some of your posts. I have also heard a lot about you from friends. I was wondering if you have any advice for a horse lover who is terrified of horses. When I was 12 I had an accident and fractured my skull and was in a coma. I was not permitted to get back on for a year. My mum was riding with me and broke her leg saving me. She was in hospital longer than me. We never rode for a long time, which is probably part of the problem. Mum rides sometimes now and is more confident than me. I have had some lessons but circumstances create big gaps between lessons. This means I start over all the time. I canโ€™t remember the accident. I can now be near them it shake andโ€ฆ

View original post 578 more words

14 thoughts on “After an accident with a horse how can I get over my fear? How can I make the process easier?”

  1. Its hard, i dont know what happened to me but one day i just woke up and was scared to death of all the things that can wrong, it took me along time to work it out and get over it but i did start out small and started all over again. I started in the round pin and then moved up to putting the saddle on taking it back off i did all this until my anxiety got to nothing then i would saddle up get on and sit for a minute and get back off it took me months but i got over it and now im ok, i could only imagin how hard after a bad accident! Good luck and god bless!

    Like

    1. I’m glad your over it!! Riding horses is one of the best things I do!! Do you ride your Clydesdales (*wink*) or have smaller riding horses?

      I’m now thinking about getting some Minis…my little sisters (8, and 6) would just have a blast with them. Stacy has some good ideas. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you! Yes I ride my clydesdale and I have two others that i also ride but my favorite is the clyde she has the smoothest gate, and is as gentle as any animal could be!

        Liked by 1 person

          1. Lol well I am not skilled enough to even try and put my foot in the stirup so i have a mounting block! Getting off is ok but getting on her, nope i have a mounting block

            Liked by 1 person

                  1. She is quite and gentle she is really head shy no buck no bite nothing she is a gentle giant she lets dogs cats the chicken all hang out by her feet and she is super carful even when i was really afraid to ride she didnt care she just stands there And lets me take my time. when u ride her she just wants to go and will walk foe miles she is my everything shes the best horse i have ever had i went 6 months without riding saddled her up and she didnt care no problems shes awesome and just sweet as sweet can be. I have heard the all clydesdales are that way though just sweet sweet babies!

                    Like

                    1. Oh no shes not even papered she is only half clyde , i am going to start showing her just around here at the local halter shows and sometime this year or next im going to breed her to a full clyde

                      Like

                    2. Do for sure im also going to start barrels with her too as soon as i get some sand for the arnea they are not fast but its fun and helps you learn the pattern and if you can do it on a big horse then thats better practice when your on a smaller on lol thats what i think anyways thank you!

                      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this:

