Devotional, Life

New Year Resolutions

Unknown

I am resolved no longer to linger,
Charmed by the world’s delight,
Things that are higher, things that are nobler,
These have allured my sight.

I will hasten to Him,
Hasten so glad and free;
Jesus, greatest, highest,
I will come to Thee.

I am resolved to go to the Savior,
Leaving my sin and strife;
He is the true One, He is the just One,
He hath the words of life.

I will hasten to Him,
Hasten so glad and free;
Jesus, greatest, highest,
I will come to Thee.

I am resolved to follow the Savior,
Faithful and true each day;
Heed what He sayeth, do what He willeth,
He is the living Way.

I will hasten to Him,
Hasten so glad and free;
Jesus, greatest, highest,
I will come to Thee.

I am resolved to enter the kingdom,
Leaving the paths of sin;
Friends may oppose me, foes may beset me,
Still will I enter in.

I will hasten to Him,
Hasten so glad and free;
Jesus, greatest, highest,
I will come to Thee.

I am resolved, and who will go with me?
Come, friends, without delay;
Taught by the Bible, led by the Spirit,
We’ll walk the heav’nly way.

I will hasten to Him,
Hasten so glad and free;
Jesus, greatest, highest,
I will come to Thee.

4 thoughts on “New Year Resolutions”

  1. What a wonderful anthem for the new year! I love this hymn, and have since childhood. I love it even more because I have a sweet and funny little memory of my son (who was about 5 at the time) paying extra close attention during this hymn to make sure the men singing in the church choir came in with the bass repeats at the right time. He wanted so badly to catch one of them doing it wrong!

    Like

      1. Not that I am aware of … but he had the hymnal out, tracking along with his finger as he carefully watched that row of men. Once I realized what he was doing, I could hardly sing for snickering. LOL!

        Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this:

