Picture, Stories

Masks

Edmonton Chinese New Year. CC photo by IQRemix.
Edmonton Chinese New Year. CC photo by IQRemix.
Written for Flash! Friday

Concealing.

Ever changing.

Dead, glassy eyes, begging to be awoken.

Built on lies, covered with secrets, decorated with tears.

Tied on with feathery strings constructed of fear.

A handful of angry red.

A bowl of prideful yellow.

A cup of envious green.

A bucketful of ice-hearted blue.

The colors swirl into one mask resting on my face.

I walk with the rest of the world, masks so normal.

So natural.

So…protecting.

I walk with the rest of the sleeping world, begging to be awoken.

Wake me, I beg.

Free me.

Though I do not know it, I’m trapped in a shell.

And only those who know no shell can open it up.

But does anyone?

Does anyone not have a mask?

A secret?

A lie?

Is there no one who does no evil?

For every mask conceals.

Conceals evil.

Conceals secrets.

Conceals lies.

Conceals…me.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this:

