Reblogged

Get Your Praise On!

A Life of Worship

I just finished reading an article titled “My Journey Away From Contemporary Worship Music,” and I have to say, it raised a few questions for me.  The author is arguing for the use of hymns, since they better engage the mind, as opposed to contemporary worship songs, which tend to play more on the emotions.  While I don’t necessarily disagree with the author, I do wonder that he’s flawed in his criteria.

Praise-God-christianity-30399911-500-334

This dichotomy between the mind and the heart seems to be a false one.  We are holistic creatures, with each part being interdependent upon the other(s).  Even when Jesus said that we are to “love the Lord your God with all your heart and mind and soul and strength,” I believe that He is pointing to the amalgamation of our bodies entire.  He certainly is not arguing that they be segregated one from another.  Or, take Paul’s analogy…

View original post 265 more words

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this:

