Devotional

By His Wounds

He himself bore our sins in his body on the tree, that we might die to sin and live to righteousness. By his wounds you have been healed.

1 Peter 2:24

This verse is, well, what do you want me to call it? Powerful? Lame? Uninteresting? Amazing? A testimony to Someone’s love?

This verse used to be uninteresting to me. It used to be just another verse in the Bible. But then, for Awana, I had to memorize it. OK. That’s easy to do. It’s just a short verse, not that hard to understand, right?

But wait!

My dad wanted to help me with my study of the Bible. So, he told me, “I want you to take a verse, read the verses around it and make a paragraph of what you think it is saying.”

So when I came to this verse, I thought once again, “Piece of Cake!!” I read over, closed my eyes and recited it, then asked myself. “What is it saying?” I answered myself, “Well, it’s saying…it’s saying…That Jesus died for me.”

Then I challenged myself. “Well, isn’t that what John 3:16 is saying? Don’t you think that you can do better than that?” I sighed, but I am not one to turn away a easy challenge so, “It’s saying that Jesus died on a cross.”

I mean, it’s not like I had time to mess around. I had some horses to ride before supper, schoolwork still to do, and I needed to sew up my one top so I could start wearing it without safety pins, right? I had to get going!

But something held me back, “WHAT IS THE VERSE SAYING?” It yelled at me. My heart stopped. “By his wounds you have been healed” slapped me upside the head.

“I know what it’s saying,” I whispered to myself. “It’s saying that Jesus got hurt. He got hurt so bad, they called it a wound. And to make it worse, they said wounds. And he did that so I could be healed. Would I do that for my friends? And here I have been skipping over all the details in this verse so I could go play on my horse when Jesus has been standing there with all his wounds, waiting to heal me!”

Think about it…

Hard.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this:

