Stories

Lonely

Written for Flash! Friday. My first time doing it. :)

Have you ever been lonely?

I have.

I left my parent’s home excited and engaged. My fiancé was a blonde haired, blue eyed Karen. I had all the money I needed to go to Harvard. We picked out an apartment and almost had all the paperwork done.

Two weeks before we got married, Karen was in a car accident and died. Harvard was harder than I thought and I couldn’t stop thinking about Karen. Oh my Karen. I flunked out by the first semester.

My parents…I couldn’t go and face them after that. No. Leave the country. I have more chances at finding dragons hiding treasure away from home anyways.

So I went to Russia. There was no work anywhere. No one wanted to hire an American who couldn’t speak much Russian.

Fine. Be that way.

I finally found a job where I didn’t have to talk. A chef on a train.

Have you ever been lonely?

I have.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this:

