Picture, Stories

Welcome to High School

Written for Christian Flash Weekly #27

I fidgeted with the lock. Why wouldn’t it work? It was a simple, number combination lock GUARANTEED TO WORK!!

It was my first day of high school. Already I’d met one girl who introduced herself as Becky and then asked who my boyfriend was. When I explained that I didn’t have one and gave her the reason why…she stared and quickly left. That was when I knew it was going to be way different than being homeschooled.

For the first time in my life, I wasn’t going to have a subject in Bible. I wasn’t going to have verses to memorize. I wasn’t going to have science books explaining creation; this year, they’re explaining evolution.

I dropped my backpack to the ground to fidget with my lock again. ‘7-11-14’…’7-11-14’…’7-11-14’.

Click.

I yanked it out and and gasped with relief. Five minutes till I had to be at Room 101…where was that again?

I started to stack my books in my locker. My history book slipped and fell. Fluttering out of it was a slip of paper with my mom’s handwriting on it.

“Dear Jamie, remember this while you go through the day. ‘Hear, O Israel: you are to cross over the Jordan today, to go in to dispossess nations greater and mightier than you, cities great and fortified up to heaven…Know therefore today that he who goes over before you as a consuming fire is the Lord your God. He will destroy them and subdue them before you.’

I smiled, picked up my book and started for what I thought was 101.

3 thoughts on “Welcome to High School”

  1. Judges comment on my story:

    Welcome to High School by daleenc is a story many of us could relate to. The nervous tension of the lead is played out in the, all too familiar event, of trying to master a combo lock. The heart of the story is probably about transitions. From younger to older, from home school to public school. From relying on mom too, . . . well maybe better yet. The heart of the story is how the most important things are rock steady and always there for us – God, Scripture and Mom.

    Congratulations Faith Unlocked (http://faithunlocked.wordpress.com) on winning Grand Champion!!

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this:

